A FEW WORDS ABOUT RETRONYMS AUDIO COPY APP UPDATE

Those that know me understand I’m an old school veteran of iOS music. Few active today were around when the original “audio copy and paste” or ACP by Sonoma Wire Works overnight changed how we made music on iOS.

For the most part, ACP is still more useful for my “sequenced” projects than any new school app routing method. Of course ill route if I need to add extra fx to synths and such in an ambient session..and I’m not disputing the validity and excellence of routing apps as and when needed.

But it’s not the last word, or the standard for making music on iOS.

A few hundred people who are fanboys of a certain routing app cannot dictate to the many thousands that use iOS music apps exclusively for their productions.

There are now many kinds of users, and many different kinds of workflows too, and ACP is still very much in demand.

iOS 7 broke the original Sonoma ACP and Retronyms took it upon themselves to fix the issue by creating ACP2. A new app was even dedicated to it, a free app..

Some users reported things such as battery drainage even while the app was running in the background and dissed Retronyms for many reasons. Highly likely they were upset because to this day, these developers refuse to add Audiobus to their apps.

That’s up to them, they have their own Tabletop integration and feel interapp audio is more stable and less imposing, and they are not alone in that view.

I installed the free Audiocopy app yesterday as it was updated with a loop/ one shot store and I wanted to check out the quality as I’m a sound designer myself.

I launched the app and realised I had to finish cooking something, so I left my device on with the Audiocopy app launched.

Returned about an hour later and less than 10 percent of my battery was drained..

So I don’t know if that issue existed at all or wether it has been fixed. I’m using an iPad mini retina and it was left online, with Audiocopy running AND quite a few music apps going on in the background.

Anyway, I decided to check out the sound packs and was immediately impressed with the way they are presented.

For signing up, you get a free techno pack and you can then listen to the demo tracks of each sound pack, or listen to some one shots and loops individually. Important to note that you can actually change the bpm of the loops to see what they sound like at different speeds.

Nice touch, but it gets better..

Loopmasters are the company behind these packs and top artists such as Phaeleh and Chris Octane are providing some great loops and one shot samples here!

I rarely use loops these days but have a fondness for them as that’s what I started with back in my desktop days. Piecing together loops on Sony Acid pro. And I do see a place for them in the iOS arena.

Loops can be used as fills or extra layers.. They can also be used to create complete tracks if one has an original approach and gets experimental with them.

A lot of iOS artists would do well to use some of these loops because at present, the real underground dance music has not yet shown its face in the iOS music community as yet.

So, some of these sounds will benefit new and seasoned iOS artists and its a very good initiative by Retronyms and loop masters!

They are a bit pricey at £6.99 but you get a lot in each pack- between 1-1.5gb actually!

I’ve a mind to get the Phaeleh sound pack as it sounds very very good. Lots of deep atmospheres and garage beats, the latter are extremely hard to craft actually.

As far as the other features of the Audiocopy app are concerned, I have not had the time yet to check them out, but I will.

The iOS music app scene goes from strength to strength and developers really are providing truly pro tools of all kinds to make a complete track from start to finish..

Speaking of the “finish” , I’m realky impressed with one app “Audio Mastering”. Such a powerful tool..

You can get the Audiocopy app for free at the AppStore, you know what to do:)

20141220-212420.jpg

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

