CURRENT THOUGHTS ON IOS MUSIC

Things look VERY good for music app producers these days!

-iOS7 and inter app audio
-Virtual Ans by the developer of Sunvox
-Cube Synth by Virsyn
-Looptical by MooCowMusic
-Glitchbreaks updating with more power and great new presets

And so much more!

Connectivity is key with music apps these days and obviously more powerful devices to deal with it.

With the iOS updates and increased power of new devices, developers are acting accordingly and really making more powerful apps, some that literally put desktop to shame.

I think it’s safe to say we are at a pro level now, you can even master your tracks with certain apps:)

The iOS musicians I follow are excelling in their craft and I feel my own music has got better of late too.

My own style is experimental Drum and Bass and labels have expressed strong interest in it. I’ve yet to decide if I will go with a label or self publish. There are pros and cons to both methods and lets be realistic, even those on labels , for the most part will see little or no profit from this trade.

I’m happy to be able to share my music one way or another , as are many others.

I’d like to express my feelings about the recent trend of “begging” that has rapidly appeared amongst the iOS music scene because it concerns me deeply.

As the iOS music scene grows, so does its public profile.

We see on some iOS blogs that people complain about prices or features of apps, often publicly holding developers hostage live online.

The very same people crave acceptance by non iOS artists yet have chosen to again discredit themselves with this new begging trend.

If you are in the public eye, people will judge you for what and HOW you say it.

The iOS music community is very small but steadily growing and showing a fast growth in maturity of output, but this might well get overlooked if our public presentation is not more cautious.

The use of bad language, open dissing of apps, developers and users MUST be curbed by the so called leaders of the scene.

Begging publicly is usually frowned upon in most western cultures, but now we see it becoming a trend in the iOS scene.

First we see the “self proclaimed” leader of the iOS blogs beg for donations toward an expensive camera, this is despite him having a job and a studio full of expensive equipment.

Then a brand new blogger sends an SOS begging for rent and wifi money, again, despite him having a studio full of expensive equipment.

We supported this blogger by donating a track to a charity album which actually sold pitiful amounts ( proving that the actual iOS music community is either very very small or seriously lacking in compassion or appreciation ).

Just a few short weeks after, yet another iOS music blogger and artist is doing the rounds begging for money for his wifi and “medication”.

At that point, I started to see a disturbing pattern, and I was further concerned that the most recent beggar, is in my own personal experience a liar. Of which I have evidence of…

I felt that if this person lied to and about me repeatedly, then why should I believe his pleas of poverty and crisis?

And he too has quite a few expensive devices that could be sold to cover apparent expenses that sound like they are more vital than the facility of making music and hiding from real life responsibilities for he and his family and house.

This brings me to a very insightful conclusion, which is further evidenced by my own habits and experiences.

iOS music will NOT pay the bills for most of us, it’s a nice dream but don’t give up the day job or immediate attention to the details of your life that need it to maintain your existence in adult life.

We will not get bailed out continuously despite the best wishes of family and friends.

We all have to stand on our own two feet and music is a great tool to be engaged in, but if it is not bringing in the cash you need to survive then only do it in your spare time and focus on the things you need to do to enable such spare time.

iOS music brings us happiness and satisfaction, and it will continue to do so, but we must show the public and each other that we are stable people, or, rest assured, they will likely treat us as unrealistic obsessive hobbyists..

That being said, I value the dedicated contributions of you all and wish you the very best of success in all areas of your lives and look forward to ongoing great things with much anticipation, and will support them the best I can ( in my spare time!)

This entry was posted in app views, editorial, iOS music, music apps, musings and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to CURRENT THOUGHTS ON IOS MUSIC

  1. Usually I enjoy your blog a lot but on this article I have to disagree with some points.

    – you mentioned that the “Life On Mars” albums sold “pitiful”. I don’t know the exact sales numbers. As I’m the one who organized these albums I wonder how you know those numbers. What I know is, that about half the money iOS Mars needed was raised by the albums or direct donations to the blogger. I would call that a very good result, given the fact that the active iOS Music scene is indeed quite small (I’d estimate about 40-50 people who are seriously ACTIVE members).
    It’s true that the albums haven’t reached far outside the iOS Scene, a thing I hoped for, but nevertheless, for a spontanous project, this was a great one and it’s far from being a fail.

    – You see a trend of “begging”. What I saw was people in difficult situations asking for help. It’s not the easy way to ask for help. You’ve got to swallow a lot of pride to admit that you can’t make it on your own.
    If you’re an artist it’s not easy to find the right balance between following your dream/ your art and making money to survive, especially in a society that doesn’t value art. Some people fail at finding that balance, and I cannot condemn them for failing. I know from my own experience, that doing a dayjob you don’t want to do makes you ill. I’m lucky that that experience lies behind me, but it taught me, that there are times in life where there are no simple solutions. And I don’t want to live in a society where “asking for help when you can’t make it on your own (for WHATEVER reason)” is “frowned upon”

    – it’s always up to everyones own decision, if he wants to help people who ask for a help. There are good reasons to decide against it, if you can’t help or if you don’t like the person who asks for help. Noone has the right to judge anyones decision to help or not to help, everyone has got to discuss that with his onscience or his karma. In my opinion, the same goes for people who ask for help. I feel that I don’t have the right to judge them and I strongly believe that noone does. They have to disuss that with THEIR conscience or karma. And, as I said at the beginning, asking for help is not the easy way.

    I value you as a blogger, artist and as someone who helped me a lot, but I just had to make these points, because I see a trend in society, that goes in the direction of: “you always have to make it on your own and if you don’t make it, its your fault” . And the things that happened in those cases in the iOS Music scene, showed me, that the scene (or the active part of it) is doing it different, is not falling for “neoliberal” beliefs. There is compassion with those who failed doing it on their own. And I think, this is a very good thing, something I -as a member of that scene- am very proud of.

Leave a Reply

